项目发现博客

对于当前的探索实验室活动,请单击此页面右侧发布的推文...

注意:以下是一些较早的帖子。 当我们所在的地区将网站移至WordPress时,许多以前的Project Discovery帖子被删除。

带有Google Cardboard的Google Expeditions

托雷斯平板电脑  托雷斯班

“我看到了火星! 火星,我说! 太棒了!” 使用Google Cardboard和Google Expeditions应用程序进行虚拟实地考察时惊叹的学生。 使用借给的两个类集 巴雷特 当天,老师们能够带他们的学生到许多地方进行探险,例如火星,海洋,苔原,沙漠和埃及。 亮点是参加优胜美地的攀岩探险,然后在体育馆进行攀岩。往下看

ITC Fred Delventhal在项目发现老师Laurie Sullivan和图书馆员Margaret Frick的支持下组织了“探险日”。 由传播艺术老师Renee Shaw创建的视频向学生展示 时间表.

我看到了火星Google Cardboard

巴雷特探险影片: https://youtu.be/pId16POuv1g

要了解有关Google Expeditions的更多信息,请访问 https://www.google.com/edu/expeditions/

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在1年5月2016日发布

    关注项目发现 @LSullivan #KWB骄傲

    谷歌纸板 埃尔卡皮坦

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在1年4月2016日发布

    工程Google Cardboard

    教学技术协调员Fred Delventhal将工程设计过程与Google Cardboard的开发联系起来。

    爱Google Cardboard

    我们喜欢Google Cardboard!

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在12年4月2015日发布

    感谢在探索实验室做志愿者的许多父母!

    父母和杰瑟普

    https://twitter.com/lsullivan/status/672736761269866496

    志愿者和杰西普

    https://twitter.com/lsullivan/status/676560200980017152

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在12年3月2015日发布今天,作为“太空故事总动员”计划的一部分,将从佛罗里达向国际空间站(ISS)发射一本新的书籍。 在太空中已经读过的一个故事是《 MAX GOES TO SPACE STATION》。 您可以在YouTube上听故事:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjKms1gPSkY最大工作温度
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在10年1月2015日发布马丁内斯酋长1月4日,美国鱼类和野生动物服务局的工作人员访问了Barrett的发现实验室,与2016年级的学生分享了“公园里的每个孩子”计划,并录制了宣传视频。 国家野生动物保护区系统负责人辛西娅·马丁内斯(Cynthia Martinez)和游侠迈克·卡洛(Ranger Mike Carlo)致辞后,向每位学生提供了一张优惠券,可在4年XNUMX月之前免费进入国家公园和野生动物保护区。该举措面向所有四年级学生及其学生家庭。 凭证可以从 https://www.everykidinapark.gov活动照片可在此处查看: https://www.flickr.com/photos/projectdiscovery/albums/72157659356450932首席 视频
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在9年16月2015日发布鲨鱼肚脐“你知道有些鲨鱼有肚脐吗?” 这只是Barrett #KWBpride小学二年级老师在两次Skype课堂上与Sharks4Kids.com创始人海洋生物学家Jillian Morris一起发布的有趣事实之一。 学生通过在Sharks4Kids网站上观看推荐的视频剪辑并将他们的问题写在便笺上,从而为Skype会议做准备。
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在9年16月2015日发布Skype鲨鱼活动挂图

    Sharks4Kids网站上的视频,照片和活动 http://sharks4kids.com/

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在9年15月2015日发布船群我们很高兴工程师Stu Jessup博士今年将与4年级和5年级的学生一起工作。 Jessup博士是通过阿灵顿公立学校与AAAS的合作关系来到我们的 教室里的科学家和工程师 程序。 去年,学生们建造并测试了悬臂和船只。 今年秋天,杰瑟普(Jessup)博士正在为学生设计一个很棒的新工程项目……敬请期待……

    视频中突出显示了学生的悬臂和船只 当前五年级 学生们: 谢谢你。 JESSUP视频: https://vimeo.com/131145531

    船用坦克  data

    建筑与测试 船屋 Flickr上的相册 https://www.flickr.com/photos/projectdiscovery/albums/72157658831264059

    铰链销

    建筑与测试 鉸鏈銷 Flickr上的相册 https://www.flickr.com/photos/projectdiscovery/sets/72157646953945064/

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在8年28月2015日发布
  • 戈达德标志

    今年夏天,巴雷特的获胜团队在沙利文博士的陪同下访问了戈达德太空飞行中心,为期两天。 学生们进行了VIP游览,制造并发射了模型火箭,并与演员Peter Cullen(在《变形金刚》电影中擎天柱的配音)一起拍摄了视频,并在颁奖典礼上获得了荣誉。

    在舞台上

    很抱歉,Barrett小组的第四名学生成员Erick Buendia无法参加。

    巴雷特的学生和演员彼得·库伦(Peter Cullen)在NASA电视演播室 视频片段–您正在看NASA电视!

    Barrett的学生与Peter Cullen谈论他们的 火山探险无人机

    查看此Flickr相册中的许多照片和视频–第1页显示了在Barrett从事该项目的学生,第2页显示了NASA Goddard事件 带视频的相册

@LSullivan

沙利文

项目发现

@lsullivan
RT @ESA_EO:“特别感谢我们在此项目中的所有合作伙伴:我们的合作非常出色,并展现了真正的全球精神……
23年20月6日发布,23:XNUMXAM
                                        
沙利文

项目发现

@lsullivan
RT @SpaceX:猎鹰9号将Sentinel-6迈克尔·弗赖利希(Michael Freilich)送入轨道,第一级火箭助推器返回地球,完成了SpaceX的…
23年20月6日发布,22:XNUMXAM
                                        
沙利文

项目发现

@lsullivan
RT @NASAJPL:解除! 重温今天Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich完美画面发布中的所有动作。 美欧合作伙伴…
23年20月6日发布,19:XNUMXAM
                                        
关注

Project Discovery Blog

For 2017 – 2018 Discovery Lab activities please click on Tweets posted to the right side of this page…

Send your name to Mars! https://mars.nasa.gov/participate/send-your-name/insight/

Note: Blog posts dated between  February – June 2016 were deleted when our district moved the website to WordPress.

Google Expeditions with Google Cardboard – Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 1/5/2016

Torres Tablet   Torres Class

“I saw Mars! Mars, I say! It was awesome!” a student exclaimed during a virtual field trip using Google Cardboard & the Google Expeditions app. Using two class sets that were loaned to Barrett for the day, teachers were able to take their students on expeditions to many locations such as Mars, the ocean, tundra, desert, and Egypt. A highlight was joining a rock climbing expedition in Yosemite followed by rock climbing in the gym.Looking Down

The Expeditions Day was organized by ITC Fred Delventhal with support from Project Discovery Teacher Laurie Sullivan & Librarian Margaret Frick. A video created by Communication Arts teacher Renee Shaw showing the students in is available here.

I saw Mars Google Cardboard

Video of Expeditions in action at Barrett: https://youtu.be/pId16POuv1g

To learn more about Google Expeditions visit https://www.google.com/edu/expeditions/

Comments (0)

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 1/5/2016

    Follow Project Discovery @LSullivan #KWBpride

    Google Cardboard  El Capitan

     

    Comments (0)

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 1/4/2016

    Engineering Google Cardboard

    Instructional Technology Coordinator Fred Delventhal relates the Engineering Design Process to the development of Google Cardboard.

    Love Google Cardboard

    We love Google Cardboard!

    Comments (0)

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 12/4/2015

    Thanks to the many parents who volunteer in the Discovery Lab!

    Parent and Jessup

    https://twitter.com/lsullivan/status/672736761269866496

     

    Volunteer and Jessup

    https://twitter.com/lsullivan/status/676560200980017152

    Comments (0)

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 12/3/2015Today a new set up books is being launched from Florida to the International Space Station (ISS) as part of the Story Time from Space program. One story that has already been read in space is MAX GOES TO THE SPACE STATION.  You can listen to the story on YouTube:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjKms1gPSkYMax Comments (0)
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 10/1/2015Chief Martinez On October 1 staff from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service visited Barrett’s Discovery Lab to share with 4th grade students the “Every Kid in a Park” initiative and record a promotional video. After the presentation by the Chief of the National Wildlife Refuge System Cynthia Martinez and Ranger Mike Carlo, each student was presented with a voucher good for free admission to National Parks and Wildlife Refuges through August 2016. The initiative is open to all 4th graders & their families. Vouchers may be printed from https://www.everykidinapark.gov.Photos from the event may be viewed here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/projectdiscovery/albums/72157659356450932chief  video Comments (0)
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 9/16/2015Shark Belly Button “Did you know some sharks have belly buttons?”  This is just one of the interesting facts tweeted out by Barrett #KWBpride second grade teachers during two Skype in the Classroom sessions with marine biologist Jillian Morris, founder of Sharks4Kids.com. The students prepared for the Skype session by watching recommended video clips on the Sharks4Kids website and writing their questions on sticky notes.Check out this 30 second video of the Skype session in action  https://flipagram.com/f/cWYN9RZMS2Comments (0)
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 9/16/2015Skype Sharks Flipagram

    FlipAGram video of Barrett students during Skype in the Classroom session https://flipagram.com/f/cWYN9RZMS2

    Sharks4Kids website with videos, photos & activities http://sharks4kids.com/

    Comments (0)

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 9/15/2015Boat Group We are thrilled that engineer Dr. Stu Jessup will be working with 4th & 5th grade students this year. Dr. Jessup comes to us via Arlington Public Schools’ partnership with AAAS Scientists & Engineers in the Classroom program. Last year students built and tested cantilevers and boats. This fall Dr. Jessup is designing an awesome new engineering project for the students…stay tuned…

    The students’ cantilevers and boats are highlighted in a video featuring current 5th Grade students: THANK YOU DR. JESSUP video: https://vimeo.com/131145531

    boat tank   data

    Building & Testing Boats photo album on Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/projectdiscovery/albums/72157658831264059

     

    cantilever

    Building & Testing Cantilever photo album on Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/projectdiscovery/sets/72157646953945064/

    Comments (0)

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 8/28/2015Please see the April 2015 blog post to learn about the students’ process and winning entry – April blog w photos, project description and students’ Volcanic Exploration Drone videoGoddard Sign

    This summer Barrett’s winning team visited Goddard Space Flight Center for two days accompanied by Dr. Sullivan. The students were given a VIP tour, built and launched model rockets, filmed a video with actor Peter Cullen (voice of Optimus Prime in the Transformers movies) and were honored at an awards ceremony.

    On stage

    We are sorry that the fourth student member of the Barrett team, Erick Buendia, was not able to attend.

    Barrett students in the NASA TV Studio with actor Peter Cullen Video clip – And you’re watching NASA TV!

    Barrett students with Peter Cullen talking about their Volcanic Exploration Drone

    Check out the many photos and videos in this Flickr Album – Page 1 shows the students working on the project at Barrett, page 2 shows the NASA Goddard events Photo Album w Video

     

    Comments (0)

@LSullivan

lsullivan

Project Discovery

@lsullivan
Love seeing this #KWBPride student exploring in her Barrett NASA Explorer School fleece jacket :) Thanks for sharing your family visit to Smithsonian Air & Space Museum Udvar-Hazy Center. Discovery Lab this week for Kindergarten classes Tues & Wed #NASAedu @NASAedu @EllenStofan https://t.co/8U9W2AkmnM
Published January 21, 19 10:59AM
                                        
Follow