野生动物保护区和自然项目

 

  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在3年2月2015日发布 巴雷特美国鱼类和野生动物特别报告巴雷特(Barrett)在《美国鱼类和野生动物服务特别报告:使环境教育多样化的受众》中有特色。 可以在第20 – 23页上找到该文章。此外,请在“目录”页面上查看照片。 我们很高兴能被本出版物收录!
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在12年20月2012日发布。 XNUMX月,巴雷特(Barrett)的三年级学生参观了位于马里兰州的Patuxent研究庇护所和国家野生动物庇护所游客中心。 我们带来了十二台相机,这些相机是去年丰田TAPESTRY野生动物保护区和自然项目的一部分而购买的。 在实地考察中,学生在游客中心,远足和电车上拍照。 旅行结束后,学生们在发现实验室和教室里工作,写下有关体验的信息。 我们很幸运,我们的校长布拉特夫人与我们合作完成了该项目。 写完之后,我们准备添加照片。 我们在Mac笔记本电脑上使用iBooks Author来创建图书。 我们感谢ITC Delventhal先生为我们提供技术方面的帮助。 然后,沙利文博士将这些书籍提交给iTunes。 最后,我们收到令人振奋的消息,我们的图书可在iTunes商店中购买!这些图书可在装有iBooks的iPad上或在装有iTunes的计算机上免费下载。 但是,只能在iPad上阅读书籍。 如果您想在计算机上阅读副本,请在下面张贴每本书的PDF。对于计算机:启动iTunes并转到iTunes Store。 单击“书籍”标签,然后搜索“到Patuxent的实地考察”。对于iPad:下载免费的iBooks应用。 打开iBooks应用,然后单击库。 搜索“ Patuxent的实地考察”从iTunes下载iBooks链接到Quinzio夫人的书 https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/field-trip-to-patuxent-refuge/id590563995?mt=11 链接到纳格尔夫人的书 https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/field-trip-to-patuxent-refuge/id590357799?mt=11链接到史密斯女士的书 https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/field-trip-to-patuxent-refuge/id589421423?mt=11 PDF版本PDF – Nagle夫人的Class iBookPDF – 弗洛雷斯夫人的课堂iBookPDF – 史密斯女士的iBook类 PDF
  • 由Allyson Greene发表于6年7月2012日11:00:00作为我们对国家野生动物保护区系统的年度研究的成果,一年级学生于1月XNUMX日星期五访问了Patuxent研究保护区。 学生们很高兴看到野生动物,植物,并成为避难所! 我们看到并观察到以下内容:
    • 马利筋植物
    • 君主
    • 蝴蝶
    • and和青蛙
    • 藻类
    • 睡莲
    • 红翅黑鸟
    • 树麻雀
    • 里面有幼鸟的鸟箱
    • 蜜蜂从花中喝花蜜

    点击这里查看旅行照片! 评论(0)

  • 由艾莉森·格林(Allyson Greene)在6年4月2012日9:00:00发布为了显示您对我们的国家野生动物保护区系统的了解,三年级,四年级和五年级学生将填写在线调查。 请点击下面的链接进行调查:http://tinyurl.com/BarrettRefugeNatureSurvey  评论(0)
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在5年13月2012日发布 来自Connor 2012的Flat Puddles母亲节贺卡水坑Sullivan博士的儿子们今年对野生动植物保护区和Flat Puddles的了解非常多,以至于他们对在自然界度过母亲节的要求并不感到惊讶。 天气非常适合周日清晨前往Occoquan湾野生动物保护区。 我们及时赶到,看到三只鸟被捆扎了。 红翅黑鸟,啄木鸟和红衣主教。 在捆扎,测量和称重后,我的丈夫握住并释放了黑鸟,而我握住并释放了红衣主教。 之后,我们在避难所附近徒步旅行,然后带上Flat Puddles到伯克湖公园(Burke Lake Park)享用野餐午餐。 多么美好的母亲节!带状啄木鸟 评论(1)
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在5年10月2012日发布 Susan Garman的Animoto视频评论(0)
  • 由Allyson Greene发表于5/9/2012 12:20:00 PM感谢维珍娜自然历史博物馆在过去的学年中向我们借出了令人敬畏的动物坐骑! 他们将离开我们下周返回博物馆! 这是一些学生说再见!一年级 二年级 再见!  评论(0)
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在5年4月2012日发布DSC08503在4年级到梅森内克(Mason Neck)的实地考察中,每个学生团体都配备了丰田授权的摄像头。 学生们拍了一些很棒的照片! 这是一些学生将他们的照片上传到 诺亚计划,一项公民科学计划。
  • 劳里·沙利文(Laurie Sullivan)在5年4月2012日发布DSC08477DSC08446四年级学生正在使用分水岭模型学习分水岭和水质。 从模拟开始到结束,看看海湾中水质的差异! 顺便说一句…星球大战日快乐! 愿4日与您同在!

Wildlife Refuges and Nature Project

 

  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 3/2/2015 Barrett US Fish and Wildlife Special Report Barrett is featured in the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Special Report: Bringing Environmental Education to Diverse Audiences. The article can be found on pages 20 – 23. Also, check out the photo on the Table of Contents page. We are really excited to be included in this publication!
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 12/20/2012 . In October Barrett third grade students visited Patuxent Research Refuge and the National Wildlife Refuge Visitor Center in Maryland. We brought twelve cameras that were purchased as part of last year’s Toyota TAPESTRY Wildlife Refuges and Nature grant project. During the field trip students took photographs in the Visitor Center, as well as on the hike and on the tram ride. After the trip students worked in the Discovery Lab and in the classroom to write about the experience. We were fortunate that our principal Mrs. Bratt collaborated with us on the project.  After the writing we were ready to add our photographs.  We used iBooks Author on the Mac laptops to create our books. We appreciated our ITC Mr. Delventhal helping us with the technology. Dr. Sullivan then submitted the books to iTunes. Finally, we received the exciting news that our books are available in the iTunes store!The books are available for FREE download on the iPad with iBooks or on the computer with iTunes.  However, the books may only be read on an iPad.  If you prefer to read a copy on your computer, a PDF of each book is posted below.For computer: Start iTunes and go to the iTunes Store. Click on the “Books” tab and then search “Field Trip to Patuxent”For iPad:  Download free iBooks app.  Open iBooks app and click library. Search for “Field Trip to Patuxent”Download iBooks from iTunes Link to Mrs. Quinzio’s book https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/field-trip-to-patuxent-refuge/id590563995?mt=11 Link to Mrs. Nagle’s book https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/field-trip-to-patuxent-refuge/id590357799?mt=11Link to Ms Smith’s book https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/field-trip-to-patuxent-refuge/id589421423?mt=11 PDF Versions PDF – Mrs. Nagle’s Class iBookPDF – Mrs. Flores’ Class iBookPDF – Ms. Smith’s Class iBook PDF – Mrs. Quinzio’s Class iBook iBook Version – Download from this blog Flores Class iBook  Comments (1)
  • Posted by Allyson Greene at 6/7/2012 11:00:00 AM   As a culmination of our year study of The National Wildlife Refuge System, first graders visited Patuxent Research Refuge on Friday, June 1st.  Students were very excited to see wildlife, plants, and just to be at a refuge!  We saw and observed the following:
    • milkweed plant
    • monarchs
    • butterflies
    • tadpoles and frogs
    • algae
    • water lillies
    • red winged blackbird
    • tree sparrows
    • bird boxes with baby birds inside
    • thistle
    • bees drinking nectar from flowers

    Click here for photos of the trip! Comments (0)

  • Posted by Allyson Greene at 6/4/2012 9:00:00 AM To show your learning about our National Wildlife Refuge System, third, fourth, and fifth graders will fill  out an online survey. Please click on the link below and take the survey:http://tinyurl.com/BarrettRefugeNatureSurvey  Comments (0)
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 5/13/2012 Flat Puddles Mothers Day Card from Connor 2012Puddles Dr. Sullivan’s sons have heard so much about wildlife refuges and Flat Puddles this year that they were not surprised with the request to spend Mother’s Day out in nature.  The weather was perfect for a visit to Occoquan Bay Wildlife Refuge early Sunday morning.  We arrived just in time to see three birds being banded; a red-winged blackbird, a hairy woodpecker, and a cardinal.  After banding, measuring, and weighing, my husband held and released the blackbird and I held and released the cardinal.  Afterwards we hiked around the refuge and then took Flat Puddles to Burke Lake Park to enjoy a picnic lunch. What a wonderful Mother’s Day!Banding Woodpecker Comments (1)
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 5/10/2012 Animoto video by Susan Garman Comments (0)
  • Posted by Allyson Greene at 5/9/2012 12:20:00 PM Thanks to the Virgina Museum of Natural History for loaning us the awesome animal mounts during this past school year!  They will be leaving us to return to the museum next week!  Here are some students saying their goodbyes!1st grade  2nd grade  Bye!   Comments (0)
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 5/4/2012DSC08503On the 4th grade field trip to Mason Neck, each student group was provided with a Toyota grant camera. The students took some amazing photographs!  Here are some students uploading their photos to Project Noah, a citizen science project.
  • Posted by Laurie Sullivan at 5/4/2012DSC08477DSC08446Fourth graders are learning about watersheds and water quality using the Watershed Model. Look at the difference in the water quality in the bay from the beginning to the end of the simulation! By the way…Happy Star Wars Day! May the 4th be with you!