梅利莎·波尔(Melissa Poore)

 

Melissa Poore是KW Barrett小学的ESOL / HILT助理。 她在纽约州威彻斯特县长大。 她在弗吉尼亚州布里斯托尔的Sullins学院获得了AA文凭,在那两年里爱上了弗吉尼亚。 她于1974年在佛罗里达州迪兰市的史泰森大学获得艺术教育学士学位。在史泰森与丈夫塞缪尔结识,并于1974年XNUMX月结婚。她曾在学校,退休中心和私人课程中为儿童和成人教授艺术。 。 她和丈夫搬到纽约。 她曾在曼哈顿的McCall's Pattern Company担任插画师。 然后,她转到《 McCall的针线活和手工艺杂志》,在那里担任插画家,作家和设计师。

她的丈夫于1978年去美国农业部工作,然后搬到了弗吉尼亚。 1981年,他们踏上了惊人的父母之路,成为三个女儿阿曼达,伊丽莎白和克里斯汀的父母。经过数年的游戏小组,成为房间的父母,女童子军的曲奇经理,阿灵顿森林俱乐部董事会董事(超过十年),她曾在亚历山大的祝福圣礼担任美术老师,并在费尔灵顿长老会教堂担任学前助理。

然后,梅利莎(Melissa)开始担任APS的替代者,直到2000年成为专职的幼儿园助理。后来她改用ESOL / HILT助理。 在巴雷特(Barrett),梅利莎(Melissa)找到了家,并扮演了特殊的角色。 除了课堂工作外,她还喜欢帮助特殊艺术项目,例如在图书馆里创作Barrett Reading Train壁画。 她总是在发现实验室帮助Sullivan博士。 航天飞机,哈勃望远镜,robonaut以及2D或3d Melissa所需的任何NASA火箭或卫星都可以提供。 她特别的爱是动物。 国家野生动物保护区的赠款使她能够按照自己的意愿绘画和画动物。 她最喜欢的议会是联合国大游行。 她很乐意帮助我们美好的星期五妈妈为那个集会和五年级促销标语做准备。 十多年来,她一直在绘画五年级团队选择的单词。 梅利莎(Melissa)在百老汇附近长大,喜欢剧院。 因此,顺理成章的是,她为春季音乐剧和五月幼儿园的表演提供了帮助。

梅利莎(Melissa)在巴雷特(Barrett)找到了家,并不断吸引着学生,父母和老师。 每天分享她的才华和礼物是一种荣幸。

Melissa Poore

 

Melissa Poore is an ESOL/HILT Assistant at KW Barrett Elementary School. She was raised in Westchester County, New York. She received her AA at Sullins College in Bristol, VA and fell in love with Virginia during those two years. She got her BA in art education at Stetson University in DeLand, FL in 1974.  She met her husband Samuel at Stetson and they were married in July 1974. She has taught art to children and adults in schools, retirement centers, and in private lessons. She and her husband moved to New York.  She worked at McCall’s Pattern Company in Manhattan as an illustrator. She then transferred to  “McCall’s Needlework and Craft Magazine”, where she worked as an illustrator, writer, and designer.

Her husband went to work for the USDA in 1978 and they moved to Virginia.  In 1981, they started down the amazing road of being parents to three daughters, Amanda, Elizabeth, and Christine.After years of playgroups, being a room parent, Girl Scout cookie manager, Arlington Forest Club Board Director (for over ten years), She worked as an art teacher at Blessed Sacrament in  Alexandria and as a pre-school assistant at Fairlington Presbyterian Church.

Melissa then embarked on her role as an APS substitute until she became a full time Kindergarten Assistant in 2000.  She later switched to be an ESOL/HILT Assistant. At Barrett, Melissa has found a home and a special role. Besides her classroom duties, she loves to help with special art projects, such as the creation of the Barrett Reading Train mural in the library.  She is always on hand to help Dr. Sullivan in the Discovery Lab. The space shuttle, the Hubble Telescope, Robonaut, and any NASA rocket or satellite that is needed in 2-D or 3-D Melissa can provide. Her special love is animals. The grant from the National Wildlife Refuge allowed her to paint and draw animals to her heart’s content. Her favorite assembly is the UN parade of nations. She is happy to help our wonderful Friday Moms prepare for that assembly and the Fifth grade promotion banner.  She has been painting the words chosen by the Fifth grade team for over ten years. Growing up near Broadway, Melissa loves the theater. Therefore, it was logical that she has helped with the sets of the Spring Musicals and the May Kindergarten performances.

Melissa has found a home at Barrett and is constantly enchanted with the students, parents, and teachers. It is an honor to share her talents and their gifts to her every day.