勞裡·沙利文博士

沙利文探索實驗室博士美國國務院檔案照片
拍攝“ 5位未來的宇航員和您應該認識的老師”的片段

嗨! 我是Barrett示範項目“ Project Discovery”的老師Laurie Sullivan。 自1993年以來,我一直在巴雷特(Barrett)任教,當時我在加利福尼亞教了4年級至1年級,之後才開始教3年級。 1996年,我申請了“項目發現”職位,並被前Barrett校長Terry Bratt夫人選中。 我無法想像一項工作會更加令人興奮。 巴雷特的學生非常熱衷於學習科學,我真的很喜歡與巴雷特的才華橫溢的老師一起上課。

我與高中戀人結婚兩年後,我於1987年畢業於加利福尼亞大學聖巴巴拉分校(UCSB)。 我的第一個教學職位是聖塔芭芭拉(Santa Barbara)的二年級雙語(西班牙語)課程。 我很幸運,在我旁邊的教室裡的老師是我學生教學中的老師! 她是一位入門老師的出色導師。 當我小時候就讀的小學開設職位時,我申請了。 我被聘為一年級老師。 在三年級的一年級和二年級教學之後,我升入了三年級。 能夠與我隔壁的三年級老師MY MOM一起計劃課程真是令人興奮! 她是一位了不起的老師,與她一起工作我學到了很多。 在弗吉尼亞州,我於2003年在喬治·梅森大學獲得了教學和學習方面的高級碩士學位,並以技術為重點。2003年,我榮幸地代表阿靈頓的所有敬業教師被評為年度最佳老師。 2004年,我被選為弗吉尼亞年度教師。 2010年XNUMX月,我獲得了喬治·梅森大學的博士學位。

我有兩個兒子,康納和傑克遜。 傑克遜目前在美國空軍為我們的國家服務,目前駐紮在德國,儘管他將很快派駐美國。 對我來說,一個值得紀念的時刻是傑克遜在巴雷特的小學讀書! Connor畢業於弗吉尼亞理工大學,擁有工程學(計算機科學)和數學雙學位。 他現在在西雅圖的亞馬遜公司擔任軟件開發人員。 康納11年級完成了 弗吉尼亞航空航天科學與技術學者(VASTS) NASA Langley的課程和夏季學院,該學院對弗吉尼亞州的高中生開放。 康納說,VASTS改變了人們的生活,他強烈推薦該計劃。 也許我們的某些Barrett學生會在他們年齡較大時加入該計劃!

@LSullivan

沙利文

項目發現

@lsullivan
RT @ESA_EO:“特別感謝我們在此項目中的所有合作夥伴:我們的合作非常出色,並展現了真正的全球精神……
23年20月6日發布,23:XNUMXAM
                                        
沙利文

項目發現

@lsullivan
RT @SpaceX:獵鷹9號將Sentinel-6邁克爾·弗賴利希(Michael Freilich)送入軌道,第一級火箭助推器返回地球,完成了SpaceX的…
23年20月6日發布,22:XNUMXAM
                                        
沙利文

項目發現

@lsullivan
RT @NASAJPL:解除! 重溫今天Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich完美畫面發布中的所有動作。 美歐合作夥伴…
23年20月6日發布,19:XNUMXAM
                                        
社交媒體

Dr. Laurie Sullivan

Dr. Sullivan Discovery Lab US State Department Profile Photo
Filming a segment for “5 Future Astronauts and a Teacher You Should Know”

Hi! I’m Laurie Sullivan, Barrett’s Exemplary Project “Project Discovery” teacher. I’ve been teaching at Barrett since 1993 when I was hired to teach 4th grade after teaching grades 1st – 3rd for six years in California. In 1996 I applied for the Project Discovery position and was selected by former Barrett principal Mrs. Terry Bratt. I can not imagine a job that is more exciting. The students at Barrett are so enthusiastic about learning science and I really enjoy co-teaching with the talented teachers at Barrett.

I graduated from the University of California at Santa Barbara (UCSB) in 1987, two years after I married my high school sweetheart. My first teaching position was a second grade bilingual (Spanish) class in Santa Barbara. I was fortunate that the teacher in the classroom next to me was my master teacher from student teaching! She was a fabulous mentor for a beginning teacher. When a position opened at the elementary school where I attended as a child, I applied. I was hired as a first grade teacher. After three years teaching first and second grade I moved to third grade. It was exciting to be able to plan lessons with the third grade teacher next door to me, MY MOM! She is an amazing teacher and I learned so much working with her. In Virginia I completed a Master’s degree in Advanced Studies in Teaching and Learning with an emphasis in Technology at George Mason University in 2003. Also in 2003 I was honored with representing all the dedicated teachers in Arlington as the Teacher of the Year. In 2004 I was selected as the Virginia Teacher of the Year. In May 2010 I earned my doctorate from George Mason University.

I have two sons, Connor and Jackson. Jackson is serving our country in the United States Air Force and is currently based in Germany, although he will be stationed in the U.S. soon. A memorable time for me was when Jackson attended elementary school here at Barrett! Connor graduated from Virginia Tech with a double major in Engineering (Computer Science) and Mathematics. He is now working as a software developer with Amazon in Seattle. In 11th grade Connor completed the Virginia Aerospace Science and Technology Scholars (VASTS) course and summer academy at NASA Langley, which is open to high school juniors in Virginia. Connor says VASTS was a life-changing experience and he highly recommends the program. Maybe some of our Barrett students will join the program when they are older!

@LSullivan

lsullivan

Project Discovery

@lsullivan
RT @OSIRISREx: Well, I definitely touched down on Bennu! Preliminary data show the sampling head touched Bennu’s surface for approximately…
Published October 21, 20 6:36PM
                                        
Follow