تحديثات سبتمبر باريت!

عائلتي العزيزة -

يا لها من بداية رائعة لهذا العام! كل شيء يسير بسلاسة وينخرط الطلاب في خبرات تعلم مثيرة للتفكير في فصولهم. يبدأ طلاب الرياضيات في الصفوف K و 1 و 2 مجموعة الرياضيات بـ "المحادثات الرقمية" ، حيث يقوم المعلمون بفحص تفكير الطلاب للكشف عن استراتيجيات الرياضيات العقلية. يعمل علماء الرياضيات في الصفين الثالث والرابع مع مواد المشروع M3 ، المصممة لاستخراج التفكير العالي المتعلق بالقيمة المكانية ، خاصة عند التعامل مع الأعداد الضخمة والأنظمة غير الأساسية 10. ركز علماء الرياضيات في الصف الخامس على المصفوفات ، بالنظر إلى ما نراه أثناء تمثيلنا للأرقام بطرق متعددة ، وكيف تساعدنا المصفوفات في فهم خصائص الأعداد الأولية والمركبة والمربعة. المناقشات في فصل الرياضيات مذهلة حقًا - اسأل طلابك عما يتعلمونه!

لقد كتبت في مدونتي السابقة عن بعض التغييرات التي طرأت على جدول المدرسة هذا العام ، وأريد مناقشة تغيير آخر. نظرًا لأننا أعدنا مادة العلوم للصف الرابع إلى مسؤوليات معلمي الصف هذا العام ، فقد أخرجنا الجوقة من اليوم الدراسي العادي ونقلناها إلى نشاط ما بعد المدرسة. كما تعلمون جميعًا ، فإن التوقعات الخاصة بالدراسات الاجتماعية للصف الرابع والصف الرابع والخامس صارمة للغاية ، ونريد أن يكون طلابنا حاضرين في الفصل لجميع الدروس. بالنسبة للطلاب الذين يرغبون في أخذ آلة موسيقية والمشاركة أيضًا في الكورس ، فقد يفوتهم درسان اجتماعيان أو درسان في العلوم في أسبوع. نتيجة لذلك ، تُقام جوقة الصف الرابع بعد المدرسة كل ثلاثاء ، وجوقة الصف الخامس تُقام بعد المدرسة أيام الخميس. تم إرسال قسائم الأذونات إلى المنزل ، ويرجى إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى السيدة كيسر أو السيدة شيلدج إذا كنت بحاجة إلى واحدة أخرى. انتقلت قسائم أذونات الموسيقى الآلية إلى المنزل بعد تقديم الأدوات والمعالجة أثناء دروس الموسيقى المجدولة بانتظام. يرجى الاتصال بالسيدة شيلدج أو السيد فيلسي إذا كنت بحاجة إلى واحدة جديدة. كانت هذه أفضل طريقة بالنسبة لنا للحفاظ على فرصتين لتعليم الموسيقى متاحة لجميع طلاب الصفين الرابع والخامس.

نحن نطلق مبادرة جديدة هذا العام ، والتي أطلقنا عليها اسم Tiger Time. تستجيب هذه المبادرة لتركيز APS على نظام Arlington Tiered للدعم ، مما يضمن أن كل طفل لديه إمكانية الوصول إلى التدخلات الأكاديمية والإضافات حيث يُظهر هو أو هي الحاجة إليها. وقت النمر عبارة عن كتلة من حوالي 30 دقيقة 3-4 أيام أسبوعيًا في الصفوف 1-5. يمكن للمدرسين إعادة تجميع الطلاب عبر مستوى الصف الدراسي أثناء مجموعة Tiger Time وتقديم دعم جماعي صغير في الرياضيات لضمان إتقان جميع الطلاب لمفاهيم مستوى الصف الدراسي. وبالمثل ، سيتم توفير الفرص للطلاب الذين أظهروا الكفاءة لتوسيع محتوى الرياضيات إلى مستوى أعلى في حل المشكلات وتطبيقات الرياضيات. التركيز على الرياضيات هو استجابة لنتائج SOL للعام الدراسي 2015-2016 ، والرغبة في دفع طلابنا إلى الأمام في فهمهم الرياضي. ترقبوا المزيد من المعلومات - سنبدأ في إجراء مجموعات Tiger Time بعد اجتماعات الآباء والمعلمين في أكتوبر.

كما يعلم الكثيرون ، اتجهت معظم مدارس APS نحو نموذج التمايز اليومي في تقديم خدمات الموهوبين. ينضم باريت إلى هذه الخطوة هذا العام ، وقد قفزت معلمة الموارد الجديدة للموهوبين لدينا ، السيدة كاثرين هوانج ، إلى العمل مع المعلمين. تجتمع الآنسة هوانج أسبوعيًا مع كل مستوى صف لتوضيح استراتيجيات التمايز ومساعدة المعلمين على إجراء اتصالات مع خطط الدروس الخاصة بهم. شاركت في تدريس الرياضيات للصفين الثالث والرابع باستخدام مواد مشروع M3 التي ذكرتها أعلاه لدعم التفكير الأعمق حول المفاهيم الرياضية مثل القيمة المكانية. جزء من عملها في هذا الدور التدريبي هو إظهار استراتيجيات التفكير في سياق المناهج العامة. تعلم طلاب الصفين الثالث والرابع مؤخرًا عن التغليف ، وهي استراتيجية تفكير تركز على تجميع المفاهيم وتوضيحها بإيجاز (مثل التغريد تقريبًا!). تأكد من حضور اجتماع PTA لشهر أكتوبر ومعرفة المزيد عن السيدة هوانج وكيف ستعمل مع الطلاب والمعلمين هذا العام!

نشكرك على الإقبال الكبير وردود الفعل الإيجابية بعد ليلة العودة إلى المدرسة. نتطلع إلى رؤية الجميع في مؤتمرات الآباء والمعلمين الأسبوع المقبل!

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،

 

دان ردينغ

رئيسي

September Barrett Updates!

Dear Families –

What an amazing start to the year!  Everything is going so smoothly and students are engaged in thought-provoking learning experiences in their classes.  K, 1st, and 2nd grade math students are starting the math block with “number talks,” in which teachers probe students’ thinking to uncover strategies for mental math. Third and fourth grade mathematicians have been working with Project M3 materials, designed to pull out higher thinking related to place value, especially when dealing with huge numbers and non-base 10 systems.  Fifth grade mathematicians have focused on arrays, looking at what we see as we represent numbers in multiple ways, and how the arrays help us understand the characteristics of prime, composite and square numbers.  The discussions in math class are truly incredible – ask your students about what they are learning!

I wrote in my previous blog entry about some of the changes to the school schedule this year, and want to discuss another change.  As we have moved fourth grade science back into the responsibilities of the homeroom teachers this year, we have taken chorus out of the regular school day and moved it to an after-school activity.  As you are all aware, the expectations for fourth grade social studies and fourth and fifth grade science are quite rigorous, and we want our students to be present in class for all lessons.  For students who wish to take an instrument and also participate in chorus, they may miss two social studies or science lessons in a week.  As a result, fourth grade chorus takes place after school on Tuesdays, and fifth grade chorus takes place after school on Thursdays.  Permission slips have gone home, and please send an email to Ms. Kyser or Ms. Schildge if you need another one.  Instrumental music permission slips went home after introductions to the instruments and process during regularly scheduled music classes.  Please contact Ms. Schildge or Mr. Velsey if you need a new one.  This was the best way for us to keep the opportunity for two music education opportunities available to all of our fourth and fifth grade students.

We are launching a new initiative this year, which we have named Tiger Time.  This initiative responds to APS’ focus on the Arlington Tiered System of Support, ensuring that every child has access to academic interventions and extensions as she or he demonstrate the need for them.  Tiger time is a block of about 30 minutes 3-4 days per week at grades 1-5.  Teachers may regroup students across the grade level during the Tiger Time block and provide small group support in math to ensure all students master grade level concepts.  Likewise, who students who have demonstrated proficiency will be provided opportunities for extension of the math content to higher level problem solving and applications of the math.  The focus on math is a response to the 2015-2016 school year SOL results, and a desire to move our students forward in their mathematical understanding.  Stay tuned for more information – we will start conducting Tiger Time groups after parent-teacher conferences in October.

As many are aware, most APS schools have moved towards a daily differentiation model in the delivery of Gifted Services.  Barrett is joining this move this year, and our new Resource Teacher for the Gifted, Ms. Catherine Hwang, has jumped into the work with teachers.  Ms. Hwang meets weekly with every grade level to demonstrate differentiation strategies and help teachers make connections to their lesson plans.  She has been co-teaching in third and fourth grade math using the Project M3 materials I mentioned above to support deeper thinking about mathematical concepts such as place value.  Part of her work in this coaching role is to demonstrate thinking strategies in the context of general curriculum.  Third and fourth grade students recently learned about Encapsulation, a thinking strategy that focuses on synthesizing concepts and stating them concisely (almost like tweeting!). Be sure to attend the October PTA meeting and learn more about Ms. Hwang and how she will work with students and teachers this year!

We thank you for the great turnout and positive feedback after Back-to-School night.  We look forward to seeing everyone for parent-teacher conferences next week!

Sincerely,

 

Dan Redding

Principal