九月巴雷特更新!

亲爱的家人–

今年真是一个了不起的开始! 一切进展顺利,学生在课堂上进行了发人深省的学习体验。 K,1年级和2年级的数学学生从“数字对话”开始数学学习,在该课程中,老师探究学生的思维以发现心理数学策略。 三年级和四年级数学家一直在研究M3计划的材料,旨在挖掘出与地价有关的更高思维,尤其是在处理数量巨大且以10为基数的系统时。 五年级数学家专注于数组,研究以多种方式表示数字时所看到的内容,以及数组如何帮助我们理解素数,合成数和平方数的特征。 数学课上的讨论着实令人难以置信–向您的学生询问他们正在学习什么!

我在上一个博客条目中写了有关今年学校时间表的一些更改,并希望讨论另一项更改。 今年,由于我们将四年级科学重新分配给了班主任的职责,我们已经将合唱课从常规的上课日中撤出,并进行了课后活动。 众所周知,对四年级社会研究以及四年级和五年级科学的期望非常严格,我们希望我们的学生在课堂上参加所有课程。 对于希望演奏乐器并参加合唱的学生,他们可能会在一周内错过两次社会研究或科学课程。 结果,四年级合唱在星期二放学后进行,而五年级合唱在星期四放学后发生。 许可单已经寄回家,如果您需要另一封电子邮件,请发送电子邮件至Kyser女士或Schildge女士。 在定期安排的音乐课程中介绍了乐器和过程之后,乐器音乐许可单就回家了。 如果您需要新的,请联系Schildge女士或Velsey先生。 这是我们为所有四年级和五年级学生提供两个音乐教育机会的最佳途径。

我们今年将启动一项新计划,我们将其命名为“老虎时间”。 该计划是对APS对Arlington分层支持系统的关注的回应,它确保每个孩子在表现出他们的必要性时都能获得学术干预和扩展。 在30-3年级,老虎时间大约是每周4-1天,大约5分钟。 在“老虎时间”期间,教师可以在整个年级重新组合学生,并在数学方面提供小组支持,以确保所有学生都掌握年级概念。 同样,将向谁证明自己的水平的学生提供将数学内容扩展到更高级别的问题解决和数学应用的机会。 对数学的关注是对2015-2016学年SOL成绩的回应,也是一种希望推动我们的学生在数学理解上前进的愿望。 请继续关注以获取更多信息-我们将在XNUMX月的家长会议之后开始进行“老虎时间”小组活动。

许多人都知道,大多数APS学校在提供资优服务方面已朝着每日差异化模式发展。 巴雷特(Barrett)今年将加入这一行列,我们新的资优资源教师凯瑟琳·黄(Catherine Hwang)女士已与教师一起工作。 黄女士每周与每个年级开会,演示差异化策略并帮助教师与他们的教学计划建立联系。 她一直在使用我上面提到的Project M3材料在三年级和四年级数学中共同授课,以支持对诸如位置值之类的数学概念进行更深入的思考。 她担任该指导职位的部分工作是在一般课程的背景下展示思维策略。 三年级和四年级的学生最近学习了封装技术,这是一种思维策略,致力于综合概念并简洁地陈述它们(几乎像发推!)。 请务必参加XNUMX月的PTA会议,并详细了解黄女士以及她今年将如何与学生和老师合作!

我们感谢您在“重返校园”之夜后的出色参与和积极反馈。 我们期待下周见到每个人参加家长老师会议!

Sincerely,

 

丹·雷丁

创始人

September Barrett Updates!

Dear Families –

What an amazing start to the year!  Everything is going so smoothly and students are engaged in thought-provoking learning experiences in their classes.  K, 1st, and 2nd grade math students are starting the math block with “number talks,” in which teachers probe students’ thinking to uncover strategies for mental math. Third and fourth grade mathematicians have been working with Project M3 materials, designed to pull out higher thinking related to place value, especially when dealing with huge numbers and non-base 10 systems.  Fifth grade mathematicians have focused on arrays, looking at what we see as we represent numbers in multiple ways, and how the arrays help us understand the characteristics of prime, composite and square numbers.  The discussions in math class are truly incredible – ask your students about what they are learning!

I wrote in my previous blog entry about some of the changes to the school schedule this year, and want to discuss another change.  As we have moved fourth grade science back into the responsibilities of the homeroom teachers this year, we have taken chorus out of the regular school day and moved it to an after-school activity.  As you are all aware, the expectations for fourth grade social studies and fourth and fifth grade science are quite rigorous, and we want our students to be present in class for all lessons.  For students who wish to take an instrument and also participate in chorus, they may miss two social studies or science lessons in a week.  As a result, fourth grade chorus takes place after school on Tuesdays, and fifth grade chorus takes place after school on Thursdays.  Permission slips have gone home, and please send an email to Ms. Kyser or Ms. Schildge if you need another one.  Instrumental music permission slips went home after introductions to the instruments and process during regularly scheduled music classes.  Please contact Ms. Schildge or Mr. Velsey if you need a new one.  This was the best way for us to keep the opportunity for two music education opportunities available to all of our fourth and fifth grade students.

We are launching a new initiative this year, which we have named Tiger Time.  This initiative responds to APS’ focus on the Arlington Tiered System of Support, ensuring that every child has access to academic interventions and extensions as she or he demonstrate the need for them.  Tiger time is a block of about 30 minutes 3-4 days per week at grades 1-5.  Teachers may regroup students across the grade level during the Tiger Time block and provide small group support in math to ensure all students master grade level concepts.  Likewise, who students who have demonstrated proficiency will be provided opportunities for extension of the math content to higher level problem solving and applications of the math.  The focus on math is a response to the 2015-2016 school year SOL results, and a desire to move our students forward in their mathematical understanding.  Stay tuned for more information – we will start conducting Tiger Time groups after parent-teacher conferences in October.

As many are aware, most APS schools have moved towards a daily differentiation model in the delivery of Gifted Services.  Barrett is joining this move this year, and our new Resource Teacher for the Gifted, Ms. Catherine Hwang, has jumped into the work with teachers.  Ms. Hwang meets weekly with every grade level to demonstrate differentiation strategies and help teachers make connections to their lesson plans.  She has been co-teaching in third and fourth grade math using the Project M3 materials I mentioned above to support deeper thinking about mathematical concepts such as place value.  Part of her work in this coaching role is to demonstrate thinking strategies in the context of general curriculum.  Third and fourth grade students recently learned about Encapsulation, a thinking strategy that focuses on synthesizing concepts and stating them concisely (almost like tweeting!). Be sure to attend the October PTA meeting and learn more about Ms. Hwang and how she will work with students and teachers this year!

We thank you for the great turnout and positive feedback after Back-to-School night.  We look forward to seeing everyone for parent-teacher conferences next week!

Sincerely,

 

Dan Redding

Principal