17 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日- 虎眼家族消息

親愛的巴雷特家族:

我們希望你喜歡這個週末美麗的秋天天氣! 這是另一個短暫的一周,週四提前發布了家長教師會議。 我們希望您喜歡花時間與您孩子的老師一起了解他們在學校的進步!

本週推特上的巴雷特: 本週在#KWBPride! 一年級科學家、三年級簡單機器、西班牙裔傳統家庭之夜和巡迴讀者、騎自行車和步行上學日、PreK 消防局參觀、四年級學生分享個人敘述、項目發現、藝術、音樂和巴雷特美麗秋天樹木的照片! https://twitter.com/search?q=%23kwbpride&f=live

在2022 10-16-2.12.06 PM屏幕截圖

巴雷特書展:  為 KW Barrett 書展標記您的日曆,與睡衣媽媽一起閱讀! 31 月 4 日至 3 月 XNUMX 日放學後,書展將在圖書館開放,XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日將舉辦特別的家庭購物之夜。

在2022 10-16-1.40.32 PM屏幕截圖      在2022 10-16-1.40.47 PM屏幕截圖

COVID 校內測試: APS 將繼續通過我們的測試合作夥伴 Aegis Sciences Corporation 為所有學生和教職員工提供可選的校內 COVID 測試。 我們的測試日是星期四上午 10:00 至下午 12:00,在大廳舉行。 請 看到這個鏈接 了解更多信息。 如果您選擇參加,請提醒您的孩子在周四早上接受檢測。

萬聖節遊行和慶祝活動– 31 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日,星期一

我們將繼續我們在 31 年 2022 月 XNUMX 日為學生舉辦萬聖節遊行的傳統。對於我們的學生、教職員工和社區來說,這是一個盛裝打扮並在附近遊行的歡樂時光。 家長們被邀請參加我們的遊行。 我們具體計劃的詳細信息將通過 Schooltalk 單獨分享。 有關我們的遊行路線、活動時間和會議地點,請參閱學校談話信息。

您孩子房間的父母和/或老師可能會為學生計劃一個以秋季為主題的手工藝和遊戲班“派對”,以確保我們所有的學生都可以參加,因為我們的一些家庭不慶祝萬聖節。 此外,我們不允許在此活動中食用食物和飲料等可食用物品,以確保我們對學生的飲食限制、過敏等敏感。請不要為您的孩子送去參加此活動的任何食物或零食。 我們會把他們送回家。 需要注意的其他事項:

  • 請確保您孩子的服裝易於獨立穿著,因為我們沒有空間和/或人員來幫助學生更換。
  • 請將配件留在家中。 如果家長希望和我們一起參加遊行,您可以攜帶配件並沿著遊行路線交給學生,並在我們返回學校後領取。
  • 遊行結束後,所有學生將與我們一起重新進入大樓,並遵循相同的解僱程序。 我們不會將學生從遊行中開除,以確保我們在遊行後佔所有學生的人數。

請用 此鏈接 如果你 不要 希望您的孩子參加萬聖節當天的任何活動。

MLK 文學和視覺藝術大賽: 一年一度的 APS MLK 文學和視覺藝術比賽將於 18 月 18 日星期二至 15 月 2023 日星期五舉行。比賽日期已更改,以便為 23 年 1 月 XNUMX 日的 MLK 年度致敬製作高質量視頻。視頻將在 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日的校務委員會會議上強​​調。 今年,任何社區中心都沒有下車地點。 所有文學和視覺藝術作品都可以通過電子郵件發送到 MLKentries@apsva.us,留在任何學校的前台,或者放在 Syphax 大樓的一樓。 所有年級的 APS 學生都被要求參加比賽。

遊樂場拆除更新: 我們有一個正式的拆除我們操場的日期! 目前,我們幼兒園至五年級的操場將於 22 月 24 日至 5 日開始拆除。 我們的 Pre-K 遊樂場的拆除工作將在之後開始。 拆除完成後,將開始安裝我們的新遊樂場。 我們將在周一走訪該網站,並在下週的消息中提供更新時間線的任何更新。 這是什麼意思? 這是我們作為一個社區在舊操場上享受的最後一周。 我們將在本週通過學校講座分別提供我們的休息計劃更新。

統一日(穿橙色衣服!)– 十月是全國預防欺凌月,我們慶祝預防欺凌的方式之一是舉辦團結日。 在團結日,我們都將穿上橙色,以表達善意、接納和包容的團結,並傳達一個任何人都不應該經歷的可見信息敏銳 \欺凌。 團結日是 19 月 XNUMX 日星期三!

即將舉行的活動一覽
日期 時間 活動詳情
20年XNUMX月 1:下午30 提前發布-家長教師會議
21年XNUMX月 沒有學校 家長教師會議
24年XNUMX月 沒有學校 節日:排燈節
28年XNUMX月 4:00-5:00 PM 巴雷特跑步者
31年XNUMX月 TBD 萬聖節遊行

季度年級時事通訊

單擊您孩子年級時事通訊的鏈接。 今年,通訊將鏈接到校長的信息。 如果您想要紙質版,請聯繫您孩子的老師索取印刷版。

學前班 蒙台梭利 幼兒園 一年級 二年級 三年級 4th等級 5th等級 
附加鏈接

杜蘭博士的話

APS的星期五五

校長的虎眼消息 3 月 XNUMX 日

校長的虎眼消息 10 月 XNUMX 日

October 17, 2022- Eye of the Tiger Family Message

Dear Barrett Families:

We hope you enjoyed the beautiful Fall weather this weekend! This is another short week with an early release on Thursday for Parent Teacher Conferences. We hope you enjoy spending time with your child’s teacher learning about their progress in school!

Barrett in Twitter This Week: This week in #KWBPride! Photos of 1st grade scientists, 3rd grade Simple Machines, Hispanic Heritage Family Night and Roving Readers, Bike and Walk to School Day, PreK Fire Department visit, 4th grade students sharing personal narratives, Project Discovery, Art, Music and beautiful fall trees at Barrett! https://twitter.com/search?q=%23kwbpride&f=live

Screen Shot 2022-10-16 at 2.12.06 PM

Barrett Book Fair:  Mark your calendars for the KW Barrett Book Fair, with Pajama Mama & R.E.A.D.!  After school from October 31 – November 4, the book fair will be open in the library, with a special Family Shopping Night on November 3.

Screen Shot 2022-10-16 at 1.40.32 PM      Screen Shot 2022-10-16 at 1.40.47 PM

COVID In-School Testing: APS will continue to offer optional in-school COVID testing for all students and staff through our testing partner, Aegis Sciences Corporation. Our testing day is Thursday from 10:00 AM-12:00 PM in the lobby.  Please see this link for more information. Please remind your child to get tested on Thursday mornings if you have opted them in.

Halloween Parade and Festivities– Monday, October 31, 2022

We will continue our tradition of having a Halloween parade for the students on October 31, 2022. This is a fun time for our students, staff, and community to dress up and parade through the neighborhood.  Parents are invited to join us for the parade. Details of our specific plans will be shared via Schooltalk separately. Please refer to the School talk message for our parade route, timing of the event, and meeting location.

Your child’s room parents and/or teacher may plan a fall themed crafts and games class “party” for students to ensure that all of our students can participate as some of our families do not celebrate Halloween. Additionally, we will not allow edible items such as food and drinks at this event to ensure we are sensitive to our student’s dietary restrictions, allergies, etc. Please do not send your child with any food or treats for this event. We will be returning them home. Additional items to note:

  • Please  ensure that your child’s costume is easy to wear independently since we will not have the space and/or staffing to help students change.
  • Please leave accessories at home. If the parent wishes to participate in the parade with us, you can bring accessories and hand off to the student along the parade route and collect once we have returned to school.
  • All students will re- enter the building with us after the parade and follow the same dismissal procedures. We will not dismiss students from the parade to ensure that we have accounted for all of our students after the parade.

Please use this link if you do NOT want your child to participate in any of the events on Halloween Day.

MLK Literary and Visual Arts Contest: The annual APS MLK Literary and Visual Arts contest will take place from Tuesday, October 18 – Friday, November 18.  The dates of the contest have shifted to produce a quality video for the MLK Annual Tribute on January 15, 2023.  The video will be highlighted at the January 23 School Board meeting.  This year there will be no drop off locations at any community centers.  All literary and visual art entries can be emailed to MLKentries@apsva.us, left in the front office at any school, or dropped off on the 1st floor of the Syphax building.  APS students in all grade levels are asked to participate in the contest.

Playground Demolition Update: We have an official date for when demolition of our playground will begin! Currently, demolition is slated to begin on October 22nd- 24th for our Kindergarten- 5th grade playground. Demolition of our Pre-K Playground will begin right after. Once demolition has been completed, installation of our new playground will begin.  We will walk the site on Monday and provide an update in next week’s message with any updates to the timeline.  What does this mean? This is the last week for us to enjoy on our old playground as a community. We will provide an update to our recess plans via School talk separately this week.

Unity Day (Wear Orange!)– October is National Bullying Prevention Month and one of the ways we will celebrate bullying prevention is by holding a Unity Day. On Unity Day, we will all wear orange to show unity for kindness, acceptance, and inclusion and to send a visible message that no one should ever experience \bullying. Unity Day is on Wednesday, October 19th!

Upcoming Events At A Glance
Date Time Event Details
October 20 1:30 PM Early Release- Parent Teacher Conferences
October 21 No School Parent Teacher Conferences
October 24 No School Holiday: Diwali
October 28 4:00-5:00 PM Barrett Runners
October 31 TBD Halloween Parade

Quarterly Grade Level Newsletters

Click on the link for your child’s grade level newsletter. This year, newsletters will be linked to the principal’s message. Please reach out to your child’s teacher to request a printed copy if you’d prefer a hard copy.

Pre-K Montessori Kindergarten 1st Grade 2nd Grade 3rd Grade 4th Grade 5th Grade 
Additional Links

Dr. Duran’s Message

APS’ Friday Five

Principal’s Eye of the Tiger Message October 3

Principal’s Eye of the Tiger Message October 10