2017年十一月

亲爱的家人–

Vamos西班牙语的翻译员。

第一季度已经结束,学生们已经进入了第二季度的学习。

在Barrett,我们正在努力在整个社区中灌输一种“成长心态”。 成长心态处理这样一种信念,即错误是为了学习,而当我们反思错误以学习新东西时,我们就会成长。 它来自反复试验和毅力。 作为这项工作的一部分,工作人员团队根据成长心态重新组织了荣誉榜。 结果,我们将不会像过去那样在前走廊做荣誉榜。

金斯利女士和我拍摄了一段短片,其中3-5年级的老师将在他们的教室放映,并请学生反思上个季度的一种自豪感,以及他们将重点关注的第二个目标。 这里的目的是要指出,即使是直读成A的学生也有他们可以在学术上成长的领域(挑战自己以阅读更多,学习新知识,进行挑战性项目等),以及可能没有学成的学生。传统的荣誉榜仍然可以庆祝特定领域的增长,并可以设定持续改进的目标。

我们希望您能加强这些信息并庆祝您的学生今年迄今为止取得的成就!巴雷特教职员工将继续在课堂中实施“响应式课堂”方法的要素,以应对气候变化和社区建设。 每个教室都有每天 早会 具有问候,分享,活动和消息的功能。 该过程使每个学生成为关注的中心并受到同伴的赞扬,并建立例程,建立联系并强调共同点。 现在,我们还举行了第一次全校上午会议(分为PK-2和3-5节),建立了各个年级之间的关系。 询问您的学生对早会的感觉以及他们分享的内容。

感谢您一直以来的支持,以及您为Barrett贡献的强烈社区感。 进入第二季度时,我们将继续专注于在阅读,写作和数学教学上实施强有力的研讨会方法,以期满足学生的日常需求并推动他们的学习。 讲习班的方法与成长的心态很好地结合在一起–学生们继续设定目标,并致力于实现这些目标的具体策略。

我希望每个人都度过一个美好的假期,与您的家人度过愉快的时光!

此致

丹·雷丁

校长

November 2017

Dear Families –

Vamos a traducer en espanol despues de ingles.

The first quarter has ended, and students are well into their second quarter learning.

At Barrett we are working on instilling a “Growth Mindset” in our entire community.  Growth mindset deals with the belief that mistakes are for learning and we grow when we reflect on errors to learn something new.  It comes from trial and error, and perseverance.  As part of this work, a staff team has worked to reframe the Honor Roll in terms of a Growth Mindset.  As a result we will not be doing the honor roll board in the front hallway as we have done in the past.

Ms. Kingsley and I filmed a short video that teachers in grades 3-5 will be showing in their homerooms, and asked students to reflect on one source of pride over the last quarter, and one goal they will focus on for second quarter.  The intent here is to point out that even students who make straight-As have areas in which they can grow academically (challenge themselves to read more, learn something new, take on a challenge project, etc), and students who may not have made a traditional honor roll can still celebrate growth in specific areas as well as set goals to continue improving.

We hope that you will reinforce these messages and celebrate your students’ successes so far this year!Barrett staff continue to implement elements of the Responsive Classroom approach to climate and community-building in class.  Every classroom has a daily morning meeting that features greetings, a share, an activity, and a message.  The process allows every student to be the center of attention and be celebrated by peers, as well as well as establish routines and build connections and highlight commonalities.  We have also now held our first School-wide Morning Meetings (separated into a PK-2 and a 3-5 session), building relationships across grades.  Ask your students how they feel about morning meeting and what they’ve been able to share.

We are thankful for your ongoing support, and the strong sense of community you contribute to at Barrett.  As we move into second quarter, we continue to focus on implementing a strong workshop approach in reading, writing, and math instruction, in order to meet individual student needs on a daily basis and move students forward in their learning.  The workshop approach pairs well with the growth mindset – students continue to set goals and work on specific strategies to reach those goals.

I want to wish everyone a wonderful holiday season full of plenty of great time with your families!

Sincerely,

Dan Redding

Principal