نوفمبر ٢٠٢٠

عائلتي العزيزة -

Vamos a traducer en español despues de ingles.

انتهى الربع الأول والطلاب في الربع الثاني من التعلم.

في Barrett ، نعمل على غرس "عقلية النمو" في مجتمعنا بأكمله. تتعامل عقلية النمو مع الاعتقاد بأن الأخطاء هي للتعلم وننمو عندما نفكر في الأخطاء لتعلم شيء جديد. إنها تأتي من التجربة والخطأ والمثابرة. كجزء من هذا العمل ، عمل فريق من الموظفين على إعادة صياغة قائمة الشرف من حيث عقلية النمو. نتيجة لذلك ، لن نقوم بعمل لوحة الشرف في الردهة الأمامية كما فعلنا في الماضي.

صورت أنا والسيدة كينجسلي مقطع فيديو قصيرًا سيعرضه المعلمون في الصفوف 3-5 في غرفهم ، وطلبنا من الطلاب التفكير في مصدر فخر واحد خلال الربع الأخير ، وهدف واحد سيركزون عليه في الربع الثاني. الهدف هنا هو الإشارة إلى أنه حتى الطلاب الذين يصنعون الأمور بطريقة صحيحة لديهم مجالات يمكنهم فيها النمو أكاديميًا (تحدي أنفسهم لقراءة المزيد ، وتعلم شيء جديد ، والمشاركة في مشروع التحدي ، وما إلى ذلك) ، والطلاب الذين ربما لم يكونوا قد حققوا ذلك. لا يزال بإمكان قائمة الشرف التقليدية الاحتفال بالنمو في مجالات محددة بالإضافة إلى تحديد الأهداف لمواصلة التحسين.

نأمل أن تعزز هذه الرسائل وتحتفل بنجاح طلابك حتى الآن هذا العام! يواصل موظفو Barrett تنفيذ عناصر من نهج Classive Classive للاستجابة للمناخ وبناء المجتمع في الفصل. كل فصل دراسي يحتوي على صحيفة يومية اجتماع الصباح التي تحتوي على تحيات ومشاركة ونشاط ورسالة. تتيح هذه العملية لكل طالب أن يكون مركز الاهتمام وأن يحتفل به أقرانه ، بالإضافة إلى إنشاء إجراءات روتينية وبناء اتصالات وتسليط الضوء على القواسم المشتركة. لقد عقدنا الآن أيضًا أول اجتماعاتنا الصباحية على مستوى المدرسة (مقسمة إلى PK-2 وجلسة 3-5) ، وبناء علاقات عبر الصفوف. اسأل طلابك عن شعورهم تجاه الاجتماع الصباحي وما الذي تمكنوا من مشاركته.

نحن ممتنون لدعمك المستمر ، والشعور القوي بالمجتمع الذي تساهم فيه في Barrett. مع انتقالنا إلى الربع الثاني ، نواصل التركيز على تنفيذ نهج ورشة عمل قوي في تعليم القراءة والكتابة والرياضيات ، من أجل تلبية احتياجات الطلاب الفردية على أساس يومي ودفع الطلاب إلى الأمام في تعلمهم. يقترن نهج ورشة العمل بشكل جيد مع عقلية النمو - يواصل الطلاب تحديد الأهداف والعمل على استراتيجيات محددة للوصول إلى تلك الأهداف.

أود أن أتمنى للجميع موسم عطلة رائعًا مليئًا بالكثير من الوقت الرائع مع عائلاتكم!

مع خالص الشكر والتقدير،

دان ردينغ

رئيسي

November 2017

Dear Families –

Vamos a traducer en espanol despues de ingles.

The first quarter has ended, and students are well into their second quarter learning.

At Barrett we are working on instilling a “Growth Mindset” in our entire community.  Growth mindset deals with the belief that mistakes are for learning and we grow when we reflect on errors to learn something new.  It comes from trial and error, and perseverance.  As part of this work, a staff team has worked to reframe the Honor Roll in terms of a Growth Mindset.  As a result we will not be doing the honor roll board in the front hallway as we have done in the past.

Ms. Kingsley and I filmed a short video that teachers in grades 3-5 will be showing in their homerooms, and asked students to reflect on one source of pride over the last quarter, and one goal they will focus on for second quarter.  The intent here is to point out that even students who make straight-As have areas in which they can grow academically (challenge themselves to read more, learn something new, take on a challenge project, etc), and students who may not have made a traditional honor roll can still celebrate growth in specific areas as well as set goals to continue improving.

We hope that you will reinforce these messages and celebrate your students’ successes so far this year!Barrett staff continue to implement elements of the Responsive Classroom approach to climate and community-building in class.  Every classroom has a daily morning meeting that features greetings, a share, an activity, and a message.  The process allows every student to be the center of attention and be celebrated by peers, as well as well as establish routines and build connections and highlight commonalities.  We have also now held our first School-wide Morning Meetings (separated into a PK-2 and a 3-5 session), building relationships across grades.  Ask your students how they feel about morning meeting and what they’ve been able to share.

We are thankful for your ongoing support, and the strong sense of community you contribute to at Barrett.  As we move into second quarter, we continue to focus on implementing a strong workshop approach in reading, writing, and math instruction, in order to meet individual student needs on a daily basis and move students forward in their learning.  The workshop approach pairs well with the growth mindset – students continue to set goals and work on specific strategies to reach those goals.

I want to wish everyone a wonderful holiday season full of plenty of great time with your families!

Sincerely,

Dan Redding

Principal