2018年XNUMX月–多么美好的一年!

亲爱的家人,

希望您的夏天有个美好的开始! 我们在巴雷特又度过了又一个美好的一年,在那一年,我们看到了阅读和写作研讨会的全面实施,为所有学生提供了更多和增强的差异性,并开始在学校范围内实施响应式课堂。 我们非常兴奋,并相信我们已经以强有力的指导和高度敬业的学习者来结束了这一年。

首先,我要花点时间感谢我们的星期五志愿者为装饰健身房,走廊和大厅所做的出色工作,以促进他们的晋升。 每年,感觉就像他们超越自己,今年也不例外。 对于家庭来说,在“ 2018届班级”前或相框中为新来的中学生拍照的机会太多了,这使夜晚变得更加欢乐。 非常感谢您对孩子和学校社区的奉献。

我还要感谢在典礼后自愿提供交通控制和支持招待会的四年级父母。 您的协助确保了激动,饥饿和渴求的六年级新生能吃到蛋糕和茶点,并支持当晚的有序操作。 感谢您继续四年级父母晚上跑步的传统。

我们告别了加入我们社区的一些了不起的人-有些人在很短的时间内,有些在我们的社区中根深蒂固。 我们告别:

TM纳格尔 –最近在Barrett教过三年级的人,但是在我们学校有XNUMX多年的经验。 纳格尔女士和她的丈夫计划搬迁并享受“湖上的生活”。 我们感谢她对学生的奉献精神和有力的指导,以确保所有学生都精通她的课堂。

康妮·昆西奥(Connie Quinzio) –她最近还在巴雷特(Barrett)教三年级,并有二十多年的教学经验。 昆齐奥女士有孙子孙女,并希望能够与他们探望并与丈夫一起旅行。 我们感谢她对出色的教学的奉献精神,以及她对学习新的教学方法并将其适应于学生的热情。

帕梅拉·纳利(Pamela Nunley) –她与我们在一起仅三年,但是Nunley女士非常适合团队合作,并利用她的阅读专家背景有效地向三年级学生教授阅读和写作。 她在弗吉尼亚州接受了28年的教育后将退休,以便与家人在一起。 我们感谢她将自己的专业知识带给我们的Barrett学生。

艾莉森·格林(Allyson Greene) –在升职之夜,她感到惊讶,她分享了自己正在接受转学到格莱伯(Glebe)的经历,在那里她可以整天向五年级学生教授科学。 众所周知,格林女士对教学的真正爱好是科学,这使她能够专注于自己的激情。 我们希望她在这个新的任务和学校社区中万事如意,我们会在巴雷特怀念她。

邦妮·沃森 –沃森女士在上学的最后一天让我感到惊讶,她说她将接受转往卡林温泉的服务。 众所周知,沃森女士住在马里兰州,上下班时间很长。 如果她可以在下午3点离开,那么她的通勤时间比4点或430点离开时要短得多。Carlin Springs是一所早期学校,因此有助于她实现这一目标。 我们衷心感谢她为Barrett学生和家庭所做的贡献,并祝她在新工作中一切顺利。

艾米·希尔德(Amy Schildge) –希尔德女士生了第三个孩子,因此选择不回国。 她在巴雷特(Barrett)担任兼职声乐和乐队老师已有很多年了,并且无疑帮助我们发展了强大的乐队和合唱计划。 通过调换几位专职音乐老师,她也提供了很多稳定性。 我们感谢Schildge女士的服务,并祝她和她的家人一切顺利。

史黛西贝勒 –贝勒女士今年来到巴雷特,由于家庭和个人原因,她将搬到宾夕法尼亚州。 她进入了二年级,并与团队成员伦特(Rente)女士和麦高尼(McGonigle)女士一起为她的学生提供了良好的支持。 鉴于她在该计划中的强大背景,她还为学校实施“响应式课堂”做出了重要贡献。 我们希望她在搬家和新家中一切顺利!

黛比·迪亚兹(Debbie Diaz) – Diaz女士担任我们的图书馆员已有两年,并将搬到弗吉尼亚海滩(Virginia Beach)与她的家人更亲密。 她出色地完成了Barrett藏品的更新工作,并教学生如何独立搜索和查找他们想要的东西,并协调了出色的作者访问。 我们祝她一切顺利,并希望她的新地方为沙滩游客提供更多的空间! 🙂

黄凯瑟琳 –黄女士担任我们的资优资源老师两年。 她获得了行政上的认可并寻求了助理校长职位,霍夫曼-波士顿的幸运团队接见了她的职位。 在Barrett的两年中,她表现出领导才能,并不断提高学生的学习水平。 请和我一起祝她在新的职位上一切顺利!

特里·阿德金斯(Teri Adkins)– Adkins博士将重返教学与学习系,并将担任中学专家的新角色,将与该部门的初高中教师一起工作。 自从她三月份来以来,我们对她的所有工作感到非常感谢,并祝她在新职位上表现最好。

劳伦·威尔逊 –威尔逊女士先是替补来找我们,然后接受了教学助理的职位。 她已经在我们这里呆了一年半,并且与学生和同事建立了良好的关系。 她将离开我们在海外教英语。 请和我一起祝她一切顺利!

明年的一些变化:

明年,我们确实会有一些员工在大楼中担任新角色:

苏珊·加曼(Susan Garman) 正准备加入弗吉尼亚州学前班计划的学前班。 巴雷特(Barrett)接受了该计划的第三部分,加曼(Garman)女士将转到129室讲课。

希瑟·威尔 将全天转入PreSchool特殊教育,并与Garman女士一起担任推销老师。 她很高兴为我们最年轻的学习者提供干预,并在一个包容各方的环境中促进他们的学习。 加比·瓜达穆兹(Gabby Guadamuz) 将作为她在教室中的两位助手之一加入她的行列。

贝丝·纳尔克 几周前要求搬到三年级开班。 她很高兴加入三年级团队!

金妮·哈钦森(Ginny Hutcheson) 将担任三年级教室的职位。 在过去三年中,她以HILT三年级老师的身份提供了教学支持,今年她将负责整个教学计划。

约翰·斯图尔特 将转到K-2独立式特殊教育班, 玛丽·肯尼 将教3-5个独立的特殊教育课程。

新员工

目前,我们已经能够招募几名新员工:

劳伦·温特女士 以幼儿园老师的身份加入我们。 她来自马里兰州蒙哥马利县,过去两年来她在这里教幼儿园。 她非常高兴加入Barrett社区,以至于她也参加了XNUMX月初举行的Rising幼儿园迎新晚会! 欢迎劳伦!

凯瑟琳·马尔凯西尼女士 正在三年级加入我们。 她来自Fairfax Villa小学,在那里教了五年级的三年级。 她在费尔法克斯县学校的“ AAP”(赠与)计划和融入计划中都拥有丰富的经验。 欢迎凯瑟琳!

阿什莉·吉格里奥女士 正在二年级加入我们。 你们中的许多人都知道Giglio女士是Barrett的父母和邻居,她正在Barrett与我们一起恢复她的教学生涯! 在过去的几年中,她还一直在Barrett进行小组干预,以阅读和数学方面的工作,并长期替代她。 欢迎阿什利!

Sol Hernandez-Puente女士 正在加入我们,成为我们的图书馆员。 在过去的一年中,她曾在Fairfax的Mason Crest ES担任馆员,并曾在Fairfax学校工作,担任过幼儿园管理员,同时获得了图书馆员执照。 她非常热衷于将学生与他们喜欢的文本联系起来,并且过去曾在学校读书俱乐部追赶! 欢迎索尔!

梅根·卡里克女士 在获得UVA附加学位后回到教室后,我们将作为兼职音乐老师加入我们。 她在基础声乐程序方面拥有丰富的经验。 珍妮·雪莉(Jenny Shirley)女士将专门从事声乐工作,因此她将在来年参加乐队计划。

如您所知,我们欢迎您 拉根·索尔女士 作为我们的新副校长! Sohr女士曾担任过小学老师,特殊教育老师,干预专家,测试协调员和特殊教育协调员。 她带来了巨大的专业知识并为学生提供了学术支持,我们非常期待在来年与她合作。

随着其他人员的增加,我们将及时通知您。

你们中许多人都知道,三年级,四年级和五年级的班级不会“部门化”或中午改班。 我们的时间表变得越来越复杂,并且在过去的一年中我们失去了几个教学支持职位,因此,我们需要同步时间表所提供的灵活性,即每个年级同时授课阅读,并且可以将学生拉到教室里以寻求更多支持。 虽然我们支持教师专注于一个或两个学科领域并建立深入的内容知识和丰富的学习单元的想法,但也有大量的研究表明,这可能要等到更高的年级才可能是合适的,甚至在更高的年级时也是如此。中学。 一项影响我对此主题思考的研究 在此链接上可用。 对于我们而言,重要的是考虑如何最好地满足所有学生的需求。

您还记得,我们不再打印并将数学数据包提供给报告卡中的家庭。 夏季评论的链接是 可在这里。 学生应在XNUMX月返回学校时将评论提交给新任班主任老师。

整个夏天观看此空间,了解Barrett的最新动态!

与往常一样,感谢您的支持和对我们的信任,因为我们共同努力教育一些出色的年轻人!

丹·雷丁

创始人

June 2018 – What a Year it Was!

Dear Families,

We hope your summer is off to an amazing start! We’ve completed another great year at Barrett in which we saw full implementation of the Reading and Writing Workshop, increased and enhanced differentiation for all students, and beginning steps towards school-wide Responsive Classroom implementation. We’re very excited, and believe we have closed the year on high notes with strong instruction and highly engaged learners.

I want to take a moment first of all to thank our Friday Volunteers for the beautiful work they did decorating the gym, hallway, and lobby for promotion. Every year, it feels like they outdo themselves, and this year was no different. There were so many great opportunities for families to take photographs of their new middle schooler in front of “Class of 2018” or within a photo frame, and it made the evening even more festive. Thank you so much for your dedication to your children and your school community.

I also want to thank the fourth grade parents who volunteered to provide traffic control and support the reception following the ceremony. Your assistance ensured that excited, hungry, and thirsty rising sixth graders had cake and refreshment and supported the orderly operation of the evening. Thank you for continuing the tradition of fourth grade parents running the evening.

We have bid farewell to some amazing people who have been part of our community – some for a short time, and some whose roots in our community go deep. We said goodbye to:

T.M. Nagle – who taught third grade most recently at Barrett, but has more than twenty years of experience in our school. Ms. Nagle and her husband are planning to relocate and enjoy “life on the lake.” We are grateful for her dedication to students and strong instruction, ensuring that all students leave her class proficient.

Connie Quinzio – she has also most recently been teaching third grade at Barrett and has more than twenty years of teaching experience. Ms. Quinzio has grandchildren on the way and looks forward to being able to visit with them and travel with her husband. We are grateful for her dedication to great instruction, and her enthusiasm for learning new instructional approaches and adapting them for her students.

Pamela Nunley – she has been with us only three years, but Ms. Nunley fit in beautifully on the team and used her reading specialist background to effectively teach reading and writing to our third graders. She is retiring after 28 years in education in Virginia to spend more time with her family. We are grateful for her bringing her expertise to our Barrett students.

Allyson Greene – she surprised me on the evening of promotion by sharing that she was accepting a transfer to Glebe, where she could teach science all day long to fifth graders. As many know, Ms. Greene’s true love in teaching is science, and this allows her to focus on her passion. We wish her the very best in this new assignment and school community, and we will miss her at Barrett.

Bonnie Watson – Ms. Watson surprised me on the last day of school by sharing that she was going to accept a transfer to Carlin Springs. As many know, Ms. Watson lives in Maryland and has a long commute. If she can leave at 3 p.m., her commute is much shorter than when she leaves at 4 or 430. Carlin Springs is an early school, so this helps her achieve that goal. We are truly grateful for her contributions to Barrett students and families and wish her the best in this new assignment.

Amy Schildge – Ms. Schildge had her third child and has chosen not to return. She has been a part time vocal music and band teacher at Barrett for a number of years, and has definitely helped us develop a strong band and chorus program. She also provided a lot of stability through a transition of several full-time music teachers. We are grateful for Ms. Schildge’s service and wish her and her family the best.

Stacey Beller – Ms. Beller came to Barrett this year, and for family and personal reasons will be relocating to Pennsylvania. She came into second grade and fit right into the team, collaborating with Ms. Rente and Ms. McGonigle to support her students. She also contributed strongly to the school’s implementation of Responsive Classroom, given her strong background with the program. We wish her the best in her move and new home!

Debbie Diaz – Ms. Diaz served as our librarian for two years and will be moving to Virginia Beach to be closer to her family. She has done a fabulous job updating the Barrett collection and teaching students how to search and find what they want independently, and coordinated fantastic author visits. We wish her the best and hope her new place has extra room for beach visitors! 🙂

Catherine Hwang – Ms. Hwang served as our Resource Teacher for Gifted for two years. She completed her administrative endorsement and sought assistant principal positions, and the lucky team at Hoffman-Boston picked her up for their opening. Throughout her two years at Barrett, she demonstrated leadership and drive to continuously raise the level of student learning. Please join me in wishing her the very best in her new position!

Teri Adkins – Dr. Adkins is returning to the Department of Teaching and Learning and will take a new role as the Secondary Specialist, working with teachers at the middle and high school level across the division. We are so grateful for all of her work since she came in March, and wish the the very best in her new position.

Lauren Wilson – Ms. Wilson came to us as a substitute first and then accepted a position as an instructional assistant. She has been with us for a year and a half and has built excellent relationships with students and colleagues. She will be leaving us to teach English overseas. Please join me in wishing her the very best!

Some changes for next year:

We do have some staff taking on new roles in the building for next year:

Susan Garman is moving to Pre-School in the Virginia PreSchool Initiative program. Barrett receives a third section of this program, and Ms. Garman will be changing to room 129 to teach the class.

Heather Weir will be moving to PreSchool Special Education, working as a push-in teacher with Ms. Garman all day. She is excited to provide intervention for our youngest learners and nurture their learning in an inclusive setting. Gabby Guadamuz will be joining her as one of the two assistants in the classroom.

Beth Nalker asked several weeks ago to move to the a third grade opening. She is excited about moving to the third grade team!

Ginny Hutcheson will take a third grade classroom position. She has provided instructional support for the past three years as a HILT teacher in third grade, and this year she will take on the whole instructional program.

John Stewart will move to the K-2 self-contained special education class and Mary Kenny will teach the 3-5 self-contained special education class.

New hires

At this time, we have been able to make several new hires:

Ms. Lauren Winter is joining us as a kindergarten teacher. She is coming to us from Montgomery County, Maryland where she has taught kindergarten for the past two years. She is so excited to join the Barrett community that she also came to the Rising Kindergarten Orientation night at the beginning of June! Welcome Lauren!

Ms. Kathryn Marchesini is joining us at third grade. She is coming from Fairfax Villa Elementary School, where she taught third grade for five years. She brings a wealth of experience working with both the “AAP” (gifted) program and inclusion program in Fairfax County Schools. Welcome Kathryn!

Ms. Ashley Giglio is joining us at second grade. Many of you know Ms. Giglio as a Barrett parent and neighbor, and she is resuming her teaching career with us at Barrett! She has also been providing small group intervention at Barrett in reading and math for the past several years, as well as serving as a long-term substitute. Welcome Ashley!

Ms. Sol Hernandez-Puente is joining us as our librarian. She has served as librarian at Mason Crest ES in Fairfax for the past year and worked in Fairfax schools previously as a kindergarten assistant while working on her librarian license. She is passionate about connecting students to texts they will love and has run after school book clubs in the past! Welcome Sol!

Ms. Meghan Carrick is joining us as our part-time music teacher after returning to the classroom after pursuing an additional degree at UVA. She has tremendous experience with the elementary vocal music program. As she will work exclusively with vocal music, Ms. Jenny Shirley will take on the band program in the coming year.

And as you already know, we are welcoming Ms. Ragan Sohr as our new assistant principal! Ms. Sohr has been an elementary school teacher, special education teacher, intervention specialist, testing coordinator and special education coordinator. She bring tremendous expertise with academic support for students, and we are really looking forward to working with her in the coming year.

As additional hires are made, we will keep you informed.

As many of you are aware, third, fourth and fifth grade classes will not “departmentalize” or switch mid-day. Our schedules have become more complex and we have lost several instructional support positions over the past year, and as such, we need the flexibility provided by synchronous schedules where each grade teaches reading at the same time and students can be pulled across homerooms for additional support. While we support the idea of teachers specializing in one or two subject areas and building deep content knowledge and rich units of study, there is also a body of research coming out that suggests that it may not be appropriate until later grades, possibly even later in middle school. One study that impacted my thinking on this topic is available at this link. It’s important for us to consider how to best meet the needs of all of our students.

As you recall, we no longer print and provide the math packets to families in the report cards. Links to the summer reviews are available here. Students should submit the review to their new homeroom teacher when they return to school in September.

Watch this space for updates all summer on what’s happening at Barrett!

As always, thank you for your support and your faith in us as we work together to educate some wonderful young people!

Dan Redding

Principal