为新学年做准备!

亲爱的家人,

我们很高兴为新的一年做好准备! 当我们准备欢迎新员工并欢迎我们所有的学生回来时,发生了许多激动人心的事情!

我们都为改善游乐场面积而感到非常兴奋! 暑假期间,已经有工程师在操场上进行排水测试并进行了测试,并且已经提交了许可以开始工作。 实际的草皮材料计划于17月XNUMX日交付,之后开始安装。 安装完成后,将开始其他改进,包括改善操场周围的人行道,以及阻止径流进入Park Drive人行道的工作。 我们希望工作能够迅速进行,以便为开学第一天做好一切准备!

我们在建筑物的前面增加了新的自行车架,并在操场上和学校前面看到了新的垃圾桶和回收容器。 今年夏天,阿灵顿树木管理员也对我们进行了几次访问,他们在修剪树木方面做得非常出色,并帮助我们保持地面状况良好。

下学年的另一个重要变化是预告片上安装了照相电话,使教职员工和学生“嗡嗡作响”到预告片中。 这将为需要进出建筑物到拖车的学生提供支持,并确保及时重新进入拖车。

如果您的孩子在今年XNUMX月或XNUMX月参加了SOL考试,那么您应该已经收到SOL考试分数。 如果您对分数报告有任何疑问,请随时与我们联系。

在下周内,您将收到我们的欢迎函,其中包括为1-5年级的学生安排的课堂和老师作业。 老师回国后,幼儿园的学生将被分配到课堂上,他们可能会在30月9日上午00:11-00:30来到我们的开放日,以了解他们的老师分配,参观教室并结识同学。 希望XNUMX日见!

我们正在观察Lubber Run社区中心建设项目的状态。 您可以在 阿灵顿县政府网站。  我们被允许使用停车场进行活动,直到施工围栏和“禁止停车”标志上升为止。 一旦发生这种情况,我们将不得不在所有活动中使用路边停车,因为现场停车极为有限。 我们创建了这张地图,显示了学校周围免费无限制停车的地方。 注意标志,以确保您没有在允许/禁止进入的区域停车。

巴雷特小学附近的停车地图

自从我上一篇博文以来,我们了解到我们团队中的一些成员已经转移到其他机会上,希望您能与我一起向他们表示祝贺,并祝愿他们下一步工作顺利:

女士。 珍妮·雪莉(Jenny Shirley) 已接受了来年APS的McKinley Elementary的职位。 结果我们聘请了Ms. 阿曼达·蒂尔(Amanda Thiel),过去四年曾在APS的Oakridge Elementary教授声乐,她将每周为我们教授四天的声乐。 还有小姐 艾米·希尔德(Amy Schildge) 已经决定每周返回巴雷特一天,并继续与乐队学生一起工作! 她决定继续与乐队学生们合作,我们感到非常激动!

女士。 梅根·皮西(Megan Pearcy) 和我们一起教四年级。 皮西女士是在佛罗里达教四年级之后来找我们的。 她和她的丈夫最近搬到了阿灵顿,我们很高兴欢迎她加入团队!

先生。 马克·黑德 加入Barrett团队教三年级。 Head先生在Fairfax县公立学校任职20年,担任初级老师和行政人员后来到我们这里。 他精通响应式课堂,很高兴加入我们的团队!

对Barrett的人员配备进行了审核,并为我们提供了一个职位,可以将ESOL / HILT老师恢复为我们的员工。 因此,我们欢迎您。 卡里·布特(Karli Boothe) 来自托马斯·杰斐逊中学。 Boothe女士从2007年开始在APS任教,当时她开始在REEP计划中向成年人教授英语。 她还曾在Science Focus ES教授HILT,然后再去TJ工作了四年。

我们很高兴欢迎您回来。 内特·吉尔斯(Nate Giles),他将作为MIPA计划的助理返回我们。 吉尔斯先生在过去的一年中担任Long Branch ES的幼儿园助理,很高兴加入Barrett团队!

我们也欢迎一位我们所熟知的人。 阿德拉·贾丁(Adela Jaldin) 正在加入团队,担任学龄前助理。 Jaldin女士在过去的七年中一直是Barrett的父母和志愿者,并且在Friday Volunteer组中非常活跃。 我们很高兴欢迎她担任这个新角色!

我们欢迎先生。 劳尔·帕拉(Raul Parra) 作为特殊教育助手。 他担任APS的全职助理已经两年半了,很高兴能担任这个新职位。

我们的团队配备齐全,随时欢迎大家回来! 我们希望您在夏天的最后几个星期过得愉快–保持凉爽,继续阅读和练习数学事实,并与家人和朋友一起度过美好的时光! 我们期待在开放日见到您!

Sincerely,

丹·雷丁

创始人

Gearing Up for the New School Year!

Dear Families,

We are so excited to be getting ready for the new year! There are many exciting things happening as we prepare to welcome new staff and welcome all of our students back!

We are all extremely excited about the work to improve our playground area!  There have been engineers working on and testing drainage on the playground during summer school, and permits have been submitted for approval to begin work.  The actual turf material is scheduled to be delivered on August 17th, with installation to begin thereafter.  Once the installation is complete, other improvements, including improved walkways around the playground, and work to stop the runoff onto the sidewalk on Park Drive will commence.  We are hoping the work moves ahead quickly so that everything is ready for the first day of school!

We have added new bike racks to the front of the building, and are seeing new trash and recycling receptacles installed on the playground and in the front of the school.  We have also been visited several times this summer by the Arlington Tree Stewards, who have done a fantastic job pruning trees and help us keep the grounds in great condition.

Another important change for the coming school year is that a camera phone was installed on the trailer, allowing staff and students to “Buzz In” to the trailer.  This will support students who need to travel in and out of the building to the trailers and ensure timely re-entry to the trailer.

You should have received SOL exam scores for your child, if she or he took them in May or June this year.  If you have any questions regarding the score reports, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.

Within the next week, you will receive our welcome back letter, which will include class and teacher assignments for students entering grades 1-5.  Kindergarten students will be assigned to classes when the teachers return, and may come to our open house on August 30 from 9:00-11:00 a.m. to find out their teacher assignment, see the classroom, and meet their classmates.  We hope to see you on the 30th!

We are watching the status of the Lubber Run Community Center construction project.  You can follow it on the Arlington County government website.  We are permitted to use the parking lot for events until the construction fencing and “no parking” signage goes up.  Once that occurs, we will have to move to street parking for all events, as on-site parking is extremely limited.  We have created this map that shows where there is free, unlimited parking around the school.  Watch the signs to be sure you are not parking in a permitted/restricted area.

Map of Parking around Barrett Elementary School

Since my last post, we have learned that several members of our team have moved on to other opportunities, and I hope you will join me in congratulating them and wishing them well in their next steps:

Ms. Jenny Shirley has accepted a position at McKinley Elementary in APS for the coming year.  As a result we have hired Ms. Amanda Thiel, who has taught vocal music at Oakridge Elementary in APS for the past four years, and she will teach vocal music for us four days per week.  Also, Ms. Amy Schildge has decided to return to Barrett for one day per week and continue her work with our band students!  We are so thrilled with her decision to continue with our band students!

Ms. Megan Pearcy joins us to teach fourth grade.  Ms. Pearcy is coming to us after teaching fourth grade in Florida.  She and her husband recently relocated to Arlington, and we are thrilled to welcome her to the team!

Mr. Mark Head joins the Barrett team to teach third grade.  Mr. Head comes to us after 20 years with Fairfax County Public Schools as an elementary teacher and administrator.  He is well versed in Responsive Classroom and is excited to join our team!

Barrett staffing was reviewed and we were provided a position that restores an ESOL/HILT teacher to our staff.  As a result, we will welcome Ms. Karli Boothe from Thomas Jefferson Middle School.  Ms. Boothe has been with APS since 2007 when she started teaching English to adults in the REEP program.  She also taught HILT at Science Focus ES before moving to TJ for the past four years.

We are excited to welcome back Mr. Nate Giles, who is returning to us as an assistant in the MIPA program.  Mr. Giles was a Kindergarten assistant at Long Branch ES for the past year, and is excited to rejoin team Barrett!

We are also welcoming someone well-known to us – Ms. Adela Jaldin is joining the team as a preschool assistant.  Ms. Jaldin has been a Barrett parent and volunteer for the past seven years, and extremely active in the Friday Volunteer group.  We are excited to welcome her to this new role!

We welcome Mr. Raul Parra as a special education assistant.  He has been an extended day assistant with APS for two and a half years, and is exciting to be working in this new role.

Our team is fully staffed and ready to welcome everyone back!  We hope you enjoy the last few weeks of summer – stay cool and keep reading and practicing math facts, and enjoy time with family and friends!  We look forward to seeing you at the Open House!

Sincerely,

Dan Redding,

Principal